This week in Class 1 - 7.05.21
06 May 2021
This week in class 1
28 Apr 2021
Sunflowers and Superworms!
22 Apr 2021
Welcome back!
15 Apr 2021
Easter is Here!
24 Mar 2021
Superheroes, pirates treasure and magic stones!
17 Mar 2021
The first week back!
10 Mar 2021
One more sleep!
07 Mar 2021
Our final virtual 'Work to bee proud of'
05 Mar 2021
Monday 1st March
28 Feb 2021
The Pirate has been busy!
26 Feb 2021
Work to bee proud of!
26 Feb 2021
Thursday 25th February
25 Feb 2021
Tuesday 23rd February
22 Feb 2021
Welcome Back! 22.2.21
19 Feb 2021
Work to bee proud of!
12 Feb 2021
Friday 11th February
10 Feb 2021
Wednesday 10th Febuary
09 Feb 2021
Thursday 11th February
09 Feb 2021
Tuesday 9th February
08 Feb 2021
Monday 8th February
05 Feb 2021
Work to be proud of!
05 Feb 2021
Friday 5th February
03 Feb 2021
Thursday 4th February
03 Feb 2021
Wednesday 3rd February
01 Feb 2021
Tuesday 2nd February
01 Feb 2021
Monday 1st February
29 Jan 2021
Our work to be proud of - Week 4
29 Jan 2021
Friday 29th January
27 Jan 2021
Thursday 28th January
27 Jan 2021
Wednesday 27th January
25 Jan 2021
Tuesday 26th January
24 Jan 2021
Monday 25th January
23 Jan 2021
Thursday 21st January
20 Jan 2021
Friday 22nd January
19 Jan 2021
Wednesday 20th January
18 Jan 2021
Tuesday 19th January
16 Jan 2021
Monday 18th January
15 Jan 2021
Welcome to our class Miss Thewsey
15 Jan 2021
Friday 15th January
13 Jan 2021
Thursday 14th January
12 Jan 2021
Wednesday 13th January
11 Jan 2021
Tuesday 12th January
11 Jan 2021
Monday 11th January
08 Jan 2021
Friday 8th January
07 Jan 2021
Thursday 7th January
06 Jan 2021
Happy New Year!
30 Dec 2020
The end of our first term!
16 Dec 2020
Autumn 2 - week 6
09 Dec 2020
Autumn 2 - Week 5
02 Dec 2020
Autumn 2 - Week 4
24 Nov 2020
Autumn 2 - Week 3
16 Nov 2020
Autumn 2 - Week 2
13 Nov 2020
Autumn 2 - Week 1
05 Nov 2020
Newspaper - Thursday 22nd October
20 Oct 2020
The end of our first half term!
19 Oct 2020
Week 6 in Class 1
16 Oct 2020
Week 5 in Class 1
08 Oct 2020
Week 4 in Class 1
30 Sep 2020
Reading and Writing in Class 1
25 Sep 2020
Week 3 in Class 1
24 Sep 2020
DfE EYFS Early Adopters Scheme
21 Sep 2020
Another busy week!
17 Sep 2020
Parent Share Letter
16 Sep 2020
Reception children - Start of Year Information (Class 1)
14 Sep 2020
Our first week in school!
11 Sep 2020
Welcome
04 Sep 2020
Welcome to Class 1!
28 Aug 2020


ARCHIVE


ARCHIVE
 

The end of our first half term!

19 Oct 2020

The end of our first half term!

We have had a very busy half term in Class 1! It has been lots of fun getting to know each other and exploring our classroom. The children are all stars smiley 

This week we have been talking about harvest and thinking about our collective worship theme of generosity. First we shared the story of the Little Red Hen. We made character masks in our workshop area and used them to retell the story.

Next we made bread. We followed the recipe to measure and mix the ingredients and then knead the dough. We had to wait for a long time before we could bake the bread but it was worth it yes

                                        
 
After tasting our bread, we still had some bread left over so we decided that we needed something to eat with our bread. We had a pumpkin in our classroom so we used it to make vegetable soup! Some of the children helped toscoop out the pumpkin seeds, peel the carrots and potatoes and chop the vegetables to go into our soup. 
                       

Most of us thought it was very tasty - some people even had seconds!
 
In phonics this week we have met some new letters:

b                 ff                ll     ss

We sorted pictures of different things into their phoneme groups and found that some of these sounds can only be found in the middle or end of words. 

Over the holiday the children have 3 reading books. Please share these books and comment in their reading record to let me know how they are getting on with them. You can also read any other books/ magazines you have at home with your child and see if they can recognise any letters or words that we have covered so far. 
The children also have a phonic activity and some tricky words which we have looked at this week in school. These activities will help to develop their sound discrimination - the ability to hear each sound separately in the word - which enables them to decode the words in reading books.
Don't forget, you can add a picture or comment onto Evidence me to show me what they have been up to during the holiday.


Help!
We are looking for junk for our modelling and construction areas. If you have anything to spare, please send it in.
Here are some suggestions of things we can use:

boxes - all sizes               guttering                      plastic tubes                   crates                     plastic bottles                     tyres

plastic connectors for tubing               cones                      cardboard tubes                  bamboo sticks

wooden planks          
     
If you have any of these items, please leave them down the side of class 1s cloakroom or in the shed. Thank you smiley

Have a lovely half term holiday!


 

 
Go to the page-top

Please wait


Copyright © 2021  Fountains CE Primary School    Website Terms & Conditions
40  


Selct an hour and a minute and then click on Set Time

Selected Time:  _:_

Hours
Minutes
 
Set Time